Topic Options
#243004 - 02/27/12 08:36 AM Bathroom organizing
Lea Schneider Offline

Platinum (100+ Posts)

A couple of times recently, clients have asked about coming up with more storage for the bathroom. In one case, the bathroom was an apartment bathroom. There was one cabinet under the sink and that is it.

What are some inspired ways you have found more space for make-up, personal items, towels and the like for a bathroom?

#243010 - 02/27/12 10:01 AM Re: Bathroom organizing [Re: Lea Schneider]
NicoleAN Offline
Bronze (Newbie)

Loc: Detroit Metro Area
I am new at this but I thought I would chime in with what I have found helpful. I have been able to find a wheeled wire cart with drawers that is relatively narrow so it fits well in tight spaces, it is nicer looking than a plastic drawer unit but probably will not win any design awards.

Putting a shelf above the door is a good trick for using wasted space, you can stack towels there or put baskets up there to fill with less sightly items.

I have also turned a shelf of a hallway linen closet into a makeshift vanity of sorts, I hung a mirror on the inside of the door and set up trays for make up and a place for a hair dryer and flat iron to be stored. Using the hall space worked well there since there was only one tiny bathroom and that way two people could be getting ready at once.

#243016 - 02/27/12 11:26 AM Re: Bathroom organizing [Re: NicoleAN]
Diane D Online   content
Platinum (100+ Posts)

I have no room in my bathroom really. Nor do I wear makeup or even style my hair these days. I am also lucky that I have a nice linen closet right outside the bathroom.